Jens2Cents

Let it Grow

Posted on: 10/23/2014

We got the keys to our current rental in April. Until this past weekend, the lawn had only been mowed once.

Texas is dry. Our lawn is mostly weeds and even they have struggled to survive. Did the lawn look messy? Yes! Did it need to be taken care of? The HOA hadn’t said anything yet. 😉

My husband and I had both commented on it a few times, acknowledging that the lawn would need to be mowed soon. I told him on several occasions that I believed someone (possibly a neighborhood kid) would come by & offer to cut it for cash. It would be nice to pay a person instead of a business for something like this and hopefully they’d be willing to come back every so often to maintain it. Let’s face it, we weren’t getting it done ourselves.

On Saturday there was a knock at the door as we were getting ready to go run errands. My husband stepped outside. I couldn’t make out what was being said, but I did hear an older gentleman say “Please”. There was so much behind that one word that I already knew we would be helping him if possible. When he came back in my husband said the man had asked if he could cut our grass & told me a more than reasonable price. The look on his face told me he had also heard a lot in that “Please”. “Of course! Yes!” I said as I pushed him back to the door.

We took our time getting ready to leave for the day. Soon there was another knock on the door. I asked my son to please get a bottle of water for the gentleman as my husband and I stepped outside. The yard looked much better, of course. My husband paid him, being sure to give him a bit extra and handed him the water. We stood there chatting for a few moments with him admiring Muffin as she smiled shyly at him from my arms. We will see him again in a few weeks to cut the backyard and will likely request his help as long as we live in this house.

Our day had started like most and I was a bit stressed trying to get everyone ready for errands when he first arrived. When we left the house, I was much in a much more appreciative mood. Being able to say yes to someone’s plea is a great feeling. I’m so glad we let the grass grow.

Leave a Reply

Crunch on this

Enter your email address to subscribe to Jens2Cents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Jens2Cents on Twitter

a mom blog community!
