Jens2Cents

16 Pounds of Strawberries

Posted on: 11/13/2012

What do you do with 16 pounds of organic strawberries that you got for $10 because they’re overly ripe? Good question!

A few pounds were quickly devoured fresh, about half a pound had already succumbed to the mold & I cut the tops off several pounds before freezing them. (I trim the red bits from around the tops to use for a quick freezer jam, waste not want not, right?)

With about half of the strawberries left, my arms were tired & the baby needed attention. I sprayed the remaining berries with a 50/50 vinegar & water solution to stave off the mold before putting them in the fridge.

The next day I decided to puree about 2/3 of the remaining berries which I then froze into cubes.
image
These cubes can be used in smoothies/shakes, to make strawberry sauce, and…. I’m not sure what else, but I’ll figure something out. (I’ve got 84 one ounce cubes. I *have* to find a use for them!)

The last bit of strawberries got roughly chopped & mixed with some apples, water, sugar & lemon juice in a big pot to make strawberry applesauce.
image

Yummy stuff, if I do say so myself!

Leave a Reply

Crunch on this

Enter your email address to subscribe to Jens2Cents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Jens2Cents on Twitter

a mom blog community!
