Jens2Cents

Back to (Home & Public) School

Posted on: 08/28/2012

Lots of families are in the midst of adjusting to their back to school routines this month & my family is right there with them! We didn’t have too many supplies to buy this year (although I will need to make a few curriculum purchases soon) & most of the kids’ clothes & shoes still fit. They got a few new items, but that’s it. Unless your kids grew a ton or wore their clothes ragged, they really don’t need a whole new wardrobe when school starts up again.

But wait a minute, I homeschool. Why would my kids need any of this stuff? Well, my 12 year old actually attends public school. My 9 year old is being homeschooled. That’s right, homeschooling is not an all or nothing situation for us. While my son was having a lot of issues in school, my daughter has thrived in that environment. I see no reason to pull her out since it works for her & makes her happy. We haven’t decided yet what course the toddler’s education will take, but he will have a choice in the matter.

Even though we only have one child with a school supply list at the moment, we still took advantage of all the back to school sales. Hopefully we are stocked up for the year & won’t need more pens, pencils, paper or crayons until it’s all on sale again next year. I always buy extra so that I can donate to charity drives for school supplies. It may not seem like much, but I like to think that all the little things I do to help people will eventually add up.

Hope your family is enjoying the return to school, whatever that may look like for you.

Leave a Reply

Crunch on this

Enter your email address to subscribe to Jens2Cents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Jens2Cents on Twitter

a mom blog community!
