Jens2Cents

Homeschooling & Decluttering

Posted on: 08/20/2012

Over the last few months I’ve collected quite a few books & supplies for homeschooling my middle child. We don’t have a dedicated homeschool area & all of these things have been piled up in random areas around the house. Come to think of it, that’s a good way to describe how much of my house looks: things piled up in random places. We have a ton of stuff & it is stressing me out!

My desire to consolidate the homeschooling supplies to one area (which I’m still working on) is having an effect on the entire house. Now, no matter what room I find myself in, I start going through things. Is it broken? Do we use it? Do we want/need it? Can we sell/recycle/repurpose it? I want to cut down on our belongings, but there are a few things that will be replaced.

With funds from things we sell, I occasionally buy diapers as we could use a few more & would like to swap out some of the ones we don’t care for. I also plan to get a couch soon. Right now we have a mish mash of different things given to us by family members, which I don’t mind. The problem is that several of the seating pieces are Ikea furniture with exposed wooden parts that my baby keeps hitting his head on. (Plus the seat cushions slide down & you have to get up every 20 minutes to fix them, but I just count that as my daily exercise.)

Mostly though, I just want our living space to be less cluttered & more open with space to sprawl out everywhere with our books or crafting supplies. Learning can take place anywhere, but at least our tools will have an organized shelf.

Leave a Reply

Crunch on this

Enter your email address to subscribe to Jens2Cents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Jens2Cents on Twitter

a mom blog community!
