Jens2Cents

Leftovers: Revisited

Posted on: 02/10/2011

Making the same dishes all the time gets exhausting. No one wants to eat the same meal over & over again, especially not 2, 3, 4 nights in a row! I regularly look through my fridge to see what kind of leftovers or almost empty containers are sitting in there. Then I try to find a way to combine them that will result in an edible meal & prevent me from having to throw away food (I really dislike being wasteful). Another bonus: whatever I put together is usually pretty quick to make!

Last night I found a half empty package of angel hair pasta in the pantry. I looked in the fridge & saw some cooked chicken breasts as well as an artichoke, bacon & cheese (asiago, parmesan, provolone & romano) mixture from the night I made stuffed chicken breasts & stuffed mushrooms. It all needed to be used soon or it would have to be trashed.

While the water boiled for the pasta, I shredded the chicken & looked in the pantry for something to pull it all together. I decided condensed cream of celery & some seasonings would work. The water started boiling & I broke up the pasta then added it to the pot. In a sauce pan I heated up the soup. Once it was well blended with milk (I never use water for creamy condensed soups), I added the chicken, seasonings & a few handfuls of the cheese. I poured the soup mixture into a square glass casserole dish. I combined the drained pasta with the soup slowly so that all of the noodles got evenly coated. The last of the cheese went on top of all this & the dish went in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes. I picked a veggie for the side & was pleasantly surprised at how good dinner turned out!

Leave a Reply

Crunch on this

Enter your email address to subscribe to Jens2Cents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Jens2Cents on Twitter

a mom blog community!
